Idaho Chess Association
Upcoming Events
Southern Idaho Open (Nov 12)
Western Idaho Open (Dec 10-11)
Idaho Closed (Feb 18-20)

About Us
Join Us
Online Registration
Where to Play
Want Ads

Official Publication:

(Mailing Status)

Problem of the Day
Contact Us

2007 Idaho Closed - State Championship
(February 17-19, Boise, ID)

Crosstable Games Flyer

The Idaho Closed was played in Boise, Idaho at Horizon Elementary School February 17-19, 2007. Forty-two (42) players showed up to play in a very hard fought and enjoyable competition. One could not help but notice the remarkable playing strength of the younger upcoming players who showed maturity and quality beyond their years.

There were many "upsets" (meaning the player expected to win did ot always win). For the first time in years, we filled every class and gave out every trophy. And it was so nice that every player except one was able to stay for the awards ceremony and even help clean up after the event was over. In his acceptance speach, Hans Morrow, 71, informed us all that this would be his last Idaho Closed as he was going to be moving to Utah later this year. But he will also likely be playing in the "open" tournaments put on by the ICA which are open to all players from all states.

Another point of interest is that this was Glen Buckendorf's forty-ninth (49th) consecutive Idaho State Championship! He has actually played in more than 50 events since his first one in 1947, but in 1958, Glen says he was sent out of town on a business trip and had to miss it that year. From that point forward he never missed even one. 2008 will be Glen's 50th consecutive event. We wish Glen the best of luck and look forward to that very important historical achievement.

The tie-break method used was in the following order: 1) Head-to-head (when only 2 are tied for a prize); 2) Modified Median; 3) Solkoff; 4) Cumulative; and 5) Opponent's Cumulative.

Here is a list of the prize winners:

1st Overall - Hans M. Morrow
2nd Overall - Patrick M. Flynn
3rd Overall - Bobby C. Powers

1st Expert - Paul M. Johnson
2nd Expert - Larry R. Parsons

1st Class A - Daniel A. Taylor
2nd Class A - Garrett Reynolds

1st Class B - Kenrick C. Barkell
2nd Class B - Janos Fucsko

1st Class C - Charles Blackwell
2nd Class C - Jim Stark

1st Class D - John P. Nahlen
2nd Class D - Luke Connor Harmon

1st Class E - Drake Martin Frasure
2nd Class E - Carl Honor Harmon

1st Class F - Danny J. Takeuchi
2nd Class F - Rich Hatch

1st Unrated - Joshua W. Kern
2nd Unrated - Artyom M. Zack

Top Senior (65 or older) - Glen Buckendorf, Jr.
Top Junior (18 or younger) - Adam Z. Jiang

In addition, four (4) more special awards were given out in honor of Glen Buckendorf, 10 time Idaho State Champion. Personally autographed chess books were given to Sam Seiniger, Tom R. Booth, Barry D. Eacker, and Matthew Dominick.